April 19, 2024

2016 Riders for Yamaha Racing Team Confirmed

Yamaha confirms Australasian Superbike Championship riders.

Yamaha Racing Team has retained Wayne Maxwell, Glenn Allerton and Cru Halliday for 2016 and will continue to focus on racing in the six round Australasian Superbike Championship.

They will continue to race the YZF-R1M’s that have already gone through their development process in 2015.

In just its first year, Yamaha Racing Team took the R1 to multiple pole positions and four round victories out of the six rounds contested in 2015.

After a gut wrenching one point loss in last year’s championship, Wayne Maxwell is more determined than ever to reclaim the title.

“I’m really looking forward to 2016 and the second year working with the Yamaha Racing Team and the R1,” Maxwell said. “We came so close to winning the championship in 2015 and I know that everyone at YRT is determined to get the championship back in their hands.

Glenn Allerton will also be gunning to win this year’s championship and add to his three ASBK championships from 2008, 2011 and 2014.

This year marks Cru Halliday’s fifth year with the Brisbane based Yamaha team and his third year in the premier superbike category. He is desperate to improve on his sixth place in the 2015 championship.

The first round of this year’s championship is at Sydney Motorsport Park on March 11-12.