May 21, 2024

Dakar 2018: Stage 14 – Matthias Walkner Wins, Toby Price Takes Third

Matthias Walkner wins the 2018 Dakar
Matthias Walkner has won the 2018 Dakar, maintaining KTM's unbeaten record since 2001.

Matthias Walkner has played it safe in Córdoba, finishing 8th in the final stage and securing his first Dakar win at the age of 31 years.

His win also maintains KTM’s unbeaten record in the Dakar since 2001.

Kevin Benavides (Honda) took the stage win – his first in the 2018 Dakar – and second overall, while Toby Price (KTM) finished second in the stage just 54 seconds behind to secure third place on the podium.

  • STAGE 14: Córdoba / Córdoba
  • Liaison > 166 km – Special > 120 m
Cordoba, Argentina
Cordoba, Argentina – the end point of the 2018 Dakar.

Going in to the stage with a commanding 22 minute lead meant the pressure was off Matthias Walkner, who cruised through the stage.

“It’s really, really amazing. I was never thinking that I really could win. The goal was to stay on the podium, but it was so close this year and day ten was a key day”, Walkner said.

“Maybe luck was on my side this time, but it’s really a dream come true. It was a really crazy Dakar. The riding level was so high. There were five other people who could have won it but it looks like I was the lucky one. I was surely a little bit lucky.”

“I think that on the Dakar you need a bit of luck on but sometimes you have it and sometimes you don’t have it. This time it was on my side. In 2016 after my bad injury, that changed a lot for me. It’s so cool to be back here.”

Stage 10 was where a number of the lead riders, including Toby Price (KTM) and Kevin Benavides (Honda), made navigational errors that cost them up to 50 minutes.

All Australians complete the gruelling event

Three Aussies started the 2018 Dakar and all have made it to the finish line.

Rodney Faggotter, riding for the Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team, has finished 16th overall and rookie Scott Britnell who has ridden the entire event unaided and without a support team finished a very credible 61st.

Completing the Dakar is in itself a win.

Christophe Barriere-Varju (Dream Racer) has participated in the event 4 times and says “It really does not matter whether you finish 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 80th – that is just an overall ranking against others. What’s important is that you have to be satisfied with your performance throughout the two weeks of racing”.

Congratulations to all those who who even had the dream to enter, to do the hard work to make it to the start line, regardless of where or even whether they completed the toughest motorsport event in the world.

Top 5 final placings

  • 1. Matthias Walkner (Red Bull KTM Factory Team)
  • 2. Kevin Benavides (Monster Energy Honda Team) – 00:16:53
  • 3. Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Team) – 00:23:01
  • 4. Antoine Meo (Red Bull KTM Factory Team) – 00:47:28
  • 5. Gerard Farres Guell (Himoinsa Racing Team) – 01:01:04


  • 3. Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Team) – 00:23:01
  • 16. Rodney Faggotter (Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team) – 03:58:14
  • 61. Scott Britnell (KTM) – 23:01:49

Want to know more about these riders and drivers? Check out our competitor profiles: