May 19, 2024

Dakar 2018: Stage 14 – All Australians Complete the Dakar

Toby Price portrait Dakar 2018
Toby Price has finished third overall in the 2018 Dakar.

After 14 competitive stages across over 9,500 km of some of the toughest terrain in the world, the 2018 Dakar is done.

Three Australians – 2016 winner Toby Price, Yamaha Factory rider Rodney Faggotter and rookie Scott Britnell – started the adventure on the 6th January in Lima, Peru and all have now crossed the finish line in Cordoba, Argentina.

Toby finished second in the final stage, securing a third place overall, while Scott and Rodney finished 61st and 16th respectively.

  • STAGE 14: Córdoba / Córdoba
  • Liaison > 166 km – Special > 120 m
Cordoba, Argentina
Cordoba, Argentina – the end point of the 2018 Dakar.

Scott Britnell posted to social media at the end of stage 13, saying how happy he was to make it to Cordoba.

“Another massive day in the saddle today to make it to Cordoba.”

“Very happy to have made it to the finish of the Stage to watch the sun set before another 95km liaison to the bivouac.”

“I’m now lying here in the dirt still in my riding gear after having stepped off the bike and straight into servicing it ready for tomorrow. It’s after 11:00pm and first bike is away at 5:15am in the morn for the final short Stage.”

“Stoked to be still in the game but quite numb after today’s long hot day. Two days ago I stepped on a set of scales to find that i had already lost 9kg. Most likely another couple since then. Running on empty, but will plug away tomorrow and be in the game to the end…”

Completing the Dakar is in itself a win.

Christophe Barriere-Varju (Dream Racer) has participated in the event 4 times and says “It really does not matter whether you finish 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 80th – that is just an overall ranking against others. What’s important is that you have to be satisfied with your performance throughout the two weeks of racing”.

Top 5 final placings

  • 1. Matthias Walkner (Red Bull KTM Factory Team)
  • 2. Kevin Benavides (Monster Energy Honda Team) – 00:16:53
  • 3. Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Team) – 00:23:01
  • 4. Antoine Meo (Red Bull KTM Factory Team) – 00:47:28
  • 5. Gerard Farres Guell (Himoinsa Racing Team) – 01:01:04


  • 3. Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Team) – 00:23:01
  • 16. Rodney Faggotter (Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team) – 03:58:14
  • 61. Scott Britnell (KTM) – 23:01:49

Want to know more about these riders and drivers? Check out our competitor profiles:

Do you want more Dakar action?

For the first time in a feature length film, Dream Racer shows the legendary Dakar Rally in its purest form – no sponsors, no multi-million dollar team, not even a mechanic – just one rider, a motorbike, a film maker and the world’s most dangerous motor race.

Dream Racer has now won 9 international film awards – check it out at